This Week In Privacy: Dec 19, 2008

Lifehacker

Lessons Learned From A Hacked Gmail Account
Just as the title says – a few first hand lessons on what to do if you find out your email has been broken into, how to keep your email safe and tips on net security in general.

The Register

Browsers Fail Password Protection Test
Chapin Information Services ran a series of browser security tests and the results are pretty interesting when it comes to browsers such as Google Chrome and Safari.

Identity Theft Resource Center

ITRC’s Identity Theft Predictions For 2009
Every year the Identity Theft Resource Center (ITRC) shares its thoughts for the upcoming year. The following items are ITRC’s predictions for 2009.


2 responses to “This Week In Privacy: Dec 19, 2008

  1. At the end of the day, there’s no way to idiot-proof security. Your information is only as safe as you are mindful of how you use it.

    I configure Opera to not store passwords and save cookies “only for this session”. Passpack alone knows my passwords and handles all login automation. So when I close the browser, all sessions are destroyed and none of my login information is ever compromised.

  2. I have to agree. Every browser I use has the “remember password” feature turned off. I have no need for it, plus it doesn’t sync across browsers.

    Passpack is one of those tools that lets me live largely “in the cloud”. Which means I travel much lighter :)